Batibo is one of the Sub Divisions within Momo Division with administrative headquarters in Mbengwi. Batibo Council is one of the 34 councils found in the North West Region of Cameroon. The council is some 40 km away from Bamenda the Regional Headquarter.

The area referred to as Batibo Sub Division embodies 22 villages. It is located in the South Western part of Bamenda the regional head quarter and on the fringes of the forest zone of the Upper Cross River Basin. It is therefore a transitional zone between the dense equatorial forest of the South West of Cameroon, and the Bamenda grass fields of the Western Plateau. It lies between latitudes 4° 95 and 5°45 N, and longitudes 10° 10 and 10° 30 E. The Council area is made up of 22 villages.

Climate (Rainfall and Temperature) the region falls within the Equatorial Climatic Zone (mountain type) and like every other region within this zone, has two seasons: Rainy and Dry seasons. The rainy season covers from March to mid-November and the dry season from mid-November to mid-march. The region is characterized by varying altitudes. It has two climatic zones corresponding to the relief zones. In the low plateau, temperatures are high throughout the year with a monthly average of 20°C and an annual range of 4.60°C (Batibo station).The average annual rainfall of the zone stands at 2000mm. This offers favorable climatic conditions for growth of a wide range of plants like perennial and annual crops.

Soils, the different soils found here include the red soil, the black soil (loam) and the laterite soil. The dominant soil here is the red soil. The black soil which is also found in great quantities enhances the growth of crops since it is very fertile

Hydrography the Batibo municipality is a water catchment area and therefore has many streams which serve as a water supply source in the area. There are also a few wells and boreholes which are found in the area but are not functional. The volume of water in these areas increases during the rainy season. Despite all these, the water table is very deep and as a result, most streams completely dry up during the dry season.

Flora and vegetation: Vegetation in the municipality is mostly savannah. The vegetation includes eucalyptus trees, palm trees, raffia palms and a variety of fruit trees like kola nuts, monkey cola, plum trees etc. The Batibo council area is generally described as tropical grasslands or humid savannah with re-growth of savannah with grass and shrubs. Batibo Urban space has no forest as such but that notwithstanding, there exist some forest species.

Protected areas: Protected areas are not common within the Batibo council area. The only available protected areas are the shrines and sacred forests which are sacred in Moghamo land. Some are both sacred and secret. With these, only those formally initiated can visit these sites.